Leonard Kenny

Leonard Kenny is the current Community Economic Development Officer for the Deline Got’ine Government in conjunction with the GNWT Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment. His educational background includes post-secondary Management and Community Administration studies. Leonard’s professional career spans several decades and in addition to serving his Community as Chief, he has sat on numerous boards; the Deline Land Corporation, the Deline Financial Corporation, the Sahtu Renewable Resource Board and Sahtu Oil to name a few. Highlights of his professional career include being the political force behind the Deline Got’ine Government’s Self-Governing Agreement, spearheading the Deline Caribou Conservation Plan, and being instrumental in the establishment of the Tsa Tue Biosphere a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the first Indigenous managed biosphere in the world.  Mr. Kenny lives in Deline and is married with four children. 

John Bekale

John Bekale served as Chief of Gameti in 1980 – 81. In 1984 he was elected as Vice-President of the Dene Nation, and began work with the Dene-Metis Joint Negotiations Secretariat in 1986.

In 1990, he worked for the Department of Resources, Economic Development and Wildlife, and joined the negotiations team for the Dogrib Treaty 11 Tribal Council (now known as Tlicho Government) in 1993.

Between 1995 and 2014, he served as Senior Aboriginal Advisor for BHP Diamonds. John has served several non-consecutive terms on the DDC Board of Directors since 1984, and the DII Board since 2006 and was reappointed to both in 2015.  He was recently elected Chairman of DII. 

Greg Nyuli

Greg Nyuli served two terms as Chief of Deh Gah Got’ie Dene Council.

He was the regional negotiator for the Dehcho between 1988 and 1990.

In 2001 he was named the Oil and Gas Coordinator for the Fort Providence Resource Management Board. In 2002 he became the Economic Development Officer for Pehdzeh Ki First Nation, and was Executive Director of the Deh Gah Got’ie Dene Council between 2003 – 2009. 

From 2011 – 2013 he was the Executive Director of the Zhahti Koe Friendship Centre and is currently the Executive Assistant to the Dehcho First Nations Grand Chief, a position he has held since January 2014.  Mr. Nyuli has been on the DDC Board since 1994 and the DII Board since its inception in 2006. 

James Firth

James Firth is a two-term former Chief of the Inuvik Native Band, a two-term Vice-President of the Gwich’in Tribal Council and long-time employee of Northwestel, now retired.  He owns his own business, JB Firth Enterprises and is an avid hunter and trapper.   

Mr. Firth was first elected to the Board of Directors in 1999 and served until 2014, he was reappointed in 2014. He was recently elected by the Board members as Chairman. 

Felix Lockhart

Felix Lockhart has been in leadership roles for most of his life. The first time was when he was honoured by the Elders in his community when they selected him as Councillor in a Non-Indian Act election system.  He went on to serve as Chief for the Lutselk’e Dene First Nation for seven intermittent terms, for a total of 17 years. He was also elected to be Grand Chief of the Akaitcho Region between 1997 and 1999. In addition to these leadership roles, Felix Lockhart was the Founding Chair of the Dene Cultural Institute, the Speaker on the South Slave Regional Council, and National Committee Member for the Dene Nation representing the South Slave Region and served on the NWT Alcohol/Drug Management Board.  He has worked at the Ekati Diamond mines and was a Traditional Counsellor and Liaison Officer to the inmates at the North Slave Correctional Centre in Yellowknife. He has worked as a sports fishing guide and seasonal caribou range forest fire fighter. Mr. Lockhart is an avid hunter, trapper and fisherman and is a fluent Dënesųłiné speaker.  Felix was appointed to the Denendeh Development Corporation and Denendeh Investment Incorporated boards in 2014 while serving as Chief.